Canoneers: spring is here! In with the new! Etc! In that spirit, we’ve come to you, dear readers, to ask, “What are we reading now?” List your favorite feminist/womanist/social justice books and blogs in the comments, and help everyone update their spring reading lists. Specifically we’re looking for hidden gems. Maybe your awesome — but oddly, not famous — friend writes an awesome blog? Maybe you’re reading an under-celebrated feminist essayist? Let us know! Oh and self-promote, self-promote, self-promote!

Mia: As for books, I’m currently reading Doris Lessing’s The Golden Notebook, just like everybody else around here. (I read somewhere that it’s the first book that really talks about women’s lives, which is horrifying, considering it wasn’t published until 1962.) I just finished Nawal El Saadawi’s Woman at Point Zero, which is a brutal little book — that is to say, you’ll finish it in one sitting and you’ll cry several times. I’m working on Jean Rhys’ Wide Sargasso Sea, which is a prequel to Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, and tells the story of Mr. Rochester’s Creole wife before she was locked in the attic. Oh and I finished Elizabeth Gaskell’s Mary Barton a few weeks ago; it’s noteworthy for honestly depicting the hard lives of the Victorian working class. Speaking of Gaskell and Bronte, I’m also halfheartedly attempting (because there’s too much on my plate already) the former’s The Life of Charlotte Bronte, which is the first biography of a female writer written by another female writer.

Blog-wise, I’m naturally reading everything. But a few blogs I’ve recently started following regularly are What Tami Said (she writes really smartly about gender, race and sometimes books, which of course we love), Lady Journos (it aggregates news stories, old and new, by women) and the Pursuit of Harpyness (I’ve actually been following these ladies for a while, but I have to give them a shout-out for regularly featuring poets).

Lindsay: I will admit that, after reading her Canonball post earlier this week, I spent much of Tuesday afternoon reading and rereading all of my dear friend Laura Z.’s blog and stifling giggles at my desk. Required reading for all. I’d also like to put in a plug for Alyx Vesey’s blog Feminist Music Geek, which is dependably amazing but I will give out an extra special shout-out to her recent post about Odd Future. And, like many other a Canonball writer, I have recently become enamored with Molly Lambert’s pieces on This Recording, although with news of her recent departure from the site I’m looking forward to seeing what she comes up with next.

As far as dead trees go, right now I am reading Eileen Myles’s totally delectable Inferno (A Poet’s Novel). It’s one of those books that I like so much that I feel I have to give the sanctity of proper reading conditions: never on the subway, never when somebody else has the TV on, only in complete and total silence because then and only then can you become properly enmeshed in Myles’s language. It has been slow-going because I’m treating this way, but that’s a good thing because I don’t want it to end. I also just finished up Audre Lorde’s Sister Outsider; I’ll save most of my thoughts for when we discuss it as our next book club selection, but suffice to say (spoilers) I loved it. And, aside from all this lady business, I have been reading a collection of journal entries and letters written by Yves Klein, upon whom I have such a humongous brain-crush. For a pick-me-up, I have been revisiting a letter he wrote in 1958 to the President of the International Conference for the Detection of Nuclear Explosions, suggesting that all A- and H-bombs be painted the particular shade of blue that he used in his famous monochrome paintings. The bombs’ disintegration, he says in this letter (which is cheekily CC’ed to “His Holiness the Dalai Lama” and “Editor-in-Chief of the Christian Science Monitor;” again: brain-and-all-other-kinds-of-crush), will “allow for the most spectacular monochrome realizations that humanity, and dare I say, the cosmos itself will have known.”

